You’re looking lovely today!

“I really love your new dress! It’s so beautiful!”

“Your new hairstyle looks amazing!”

“Oh my God! I love your nails!”

“WOW! I just love your new jacket!” 

How would you react to compliments like that? Would you just say – “Thank you” or would you say something like “Oh no… I look like a big fat cow in that dress…”? Be honest! 😉

Let me know how you accept compliments! I just saw this video and I really had to laugh, because I think it’s quite true. Take a look:

And now tell me what do you guys think about this video? Is it true? Do you accept a compliment and just say “Thank you.” and not adding anything negative?

If you are adding something negative! Stop it and accept the compliment and enjoy it! 🙂 Every woman is amazing in her own way and most of the compliments are true! You do look amazing in your dress, you do look amazing with your new hairstyle and you do look lovely today! 🙂

And now I want to know – if this video is true or not. Tell me! I’m curious! 🙂

Cheers,
Miss Uschi

 

“Wow! Das Kleid steht dir super!”

“Deine neue Haarfarbe steht dir richtig gut.”

“Du siehst heute wunderschön aus.”

“Ich liebe deine neue Tasche/Hut/Jacke.”

Wie reagiert ihr auf diese Art von Komplimenten? Akzeptiert ihr sie mit einem lächeln und sagt einfach nur “Danke”. Oder habt ihr auf ein Kompliment meistens selbst was auszusetzen – wie zum Beispiel: “Findest du? Ich sehe aus wie Miss Piggy in dem Kleid.” Was auch immer. Dies ist mir eben eingefallen. 😉 

Ich bin auf dieses Thema aufmerksam geworden durch ein Video. Welches zeigt, dass Frauen nur schwer Komplimente akzeptieren können und ich finde es trifft teilweise wirklich zu. Seht euch das Video einfach an. Ist jedoch nur in Englisch. Den Link dazu, findet ihr oben weiter.

Nachdem ihr das Video nun gesehen habt, würde es mich interessieren ob es stimmt? Trifft dies auf euch zu oder kennt ihr jemanden der genau so reagiert? Klar ist das Video etwas übertrieben, aber ein bisschen Wahrheit steckt doch dahinter – oder nicht?

Ich bin wirklich neugierig auf eure Meinungen! 🙂

Zählt ihr euch zu der Gruppe Frauen die ein Kompliment nicht so einfach akzeptiert? Dann hört auf damit immer was negatives hinzuzufügen. Ihr seid wunderbar so wir ihr seid und ich glaube die meisten Komplimente sind wirklich so gemeint. Jede Frau ist bewundernswert in ihrer Art und Weise. Jede Frau ist anders und ist etwas besonderes. 🙂

So, nun aber genug von mir – nun seid ihr an der Reihe. Erzählt mir was ihr darüber denkt.

Liebe Grüße,
Miss Uschi

33 thoughts on “You’re looking lovely today!

  1. I used to say “what are you talking about!”, but now that I’m older I just try to accept the compliment as gracefully as possible. I just smile and say thank you. It takes a little while but you get used to it. I also compliment people only when I really mean it, and I hope people will be sincere with me, too!

    1. I think it’s the best way to accept a compliment with a simple “Thank you” and I totally agree with about giving a compliment only when you really mean it. That’s important!

  2. I am just like those women on a video. Because I have never ever felt beautiful in my life. I have always been that nice girl with beautiful friend… so that I have felt always. And same I feel about my art, that it will never be as good as someone elses.
    I also compliment others only when I really mean it ^^, always try to make someone happy.

    1. You don’t have to feel that way – I really love your pictures and I think you are really talented! You art don’t have to be as good as someone else’s. It’s your art – it’s unique – so you can’t compare it that way. 🙂
      And at the moment I don’t know if you have a picture of yourself at your blog, but I’m sure you are a very beautiful woman. And I think that if you get a compliment of a friend – accept it, because I think they really mean it that way. 🙂

      1. Okay, I’m now browsing your page since almost half an hour. But I’m not sure who you are on your pictures! 😀 Either I can’t find a hint if you are on a picture or if it is a model. Can you give me a hint? 😉

  3. I used to be like the girls in the vid and if anyone said something nice I’d think they were only being polite and I’d rubbish the compliment. Then I read a book that mentioned this and it said that by saying ‘oh this old thing’ you’re kind of offending the person’s friendly actions by dismissing a thoughtful compliment they took the time to pay you. When I pay a compliment to another person, I only do it if I really mean it and came to realise that I should accept them gracefully as the person giving it likely means it too. I began saying ‘thanks, glad you like it’ instead and although it felt strange at first, I can now accept a compliment and it makes me feel good!

    1. Perfect answer “Thanks, glad you like it!” 🙂

      I know that it is hard to accept compliments – I also used to find something negative, when I got a compliment from another person. And like you – I learned to accept a compliment. Though sometimes I still say something like – “What are you talking about…” 😉

  4. I used to struggle with what to say in response to a compliment. ‘Thank you’ just felt too empty and I’d often add where I’d got the dress/shoes/jacket from. Now that I live in a different country and people wouldn’t be able to buy the item anyway, I am getting used to just saying ‘thank you’.

    1. Ja manchmal fällt es schon schwer. Man muss sich manchmal zurückhalten um nicht irgendwas “negatives” hinzuzufügen. Ist zumindest bei mir so. Es wird zwar immer besser, aber ich denke ein “Dankeschön” mit einem lieben Lächeln ist die perfekte Antwort.

      Wie du schon gesagt hast, wenn ein Kompliment von einer anderen Frau kommt, dann meint sie es auch meistens wirklich so. 😉

  5. Komplimente anzunehmen habe ich erst lernen müssen. Mittlerweile freue ich mich und bedanke mich. Ich mache auch gerne selber Komplimente. Wenn ich in der Stadt eine Frau sehe und mir an ihr etwas gefällt dann sag ich das auch. Wer freut sich nicht darüber 🙂 Insbsondere wenn ein Kompliment von einer andere Frau kommt.

    1. Stimme dir zu – jede Frau freut sich bestimmt über ein ehrliches Kompliment. Noch dazu wenn es von einer fremden Frau kommt. Aber wenn ich eine Frau in der Stadt sehe, dann spreche ich sie nicht. Denke mir dann einfach “WOW! Das Teil steht ihr aber gut.” Da bin dann wohl… hm… zu schüchtern? Keine Ahnung, auf jeden Fall habe ich es noch nie gemacht. Aber ich glaube, dass dies doch sehr gut ankommt! 🙂

  6. Du bist so süss und einfach so herzlich und liebenswürdig! Danke für deinen lieben Kommentar – ich habe mich riesig gefreut!!!

    Fühl dich gedrückt und bleib so wie du bist!!!

    1. Dankeschön für diesen super lieben Kommentar. Bin schon wieder ganz rot. 🙂
      Liebe Aline – fühle dich ganz fest zurückgedrückt und keine Sorge – ich bleibe so wie ich bin. Ich hoffe es. 😉 🙂

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I also don’t know why it can be soo hard, but sometimes it really is. At least for myself – I really had or still have to learn to accept compliments. Most of the time I answer with a simple “Thanks”, but to be honest, sometimes I don’t. 😉 Why? I don’t know. 🙂

    1. Thanks! And I agree with you – accept a compliment graceful with a simple “Thank you”. It’s hard if you are not used to it, but as you know, everyone can learn it. 🙂

  7. I am guilty of brushing off compliments. I always use the classic “oh this old thing…” Accepting compliments is hard for me sometimes! It’s good to know others have the same problem!

    1. Oh yeah, I know this line – I also used quite often. But it’s getting better and better and I try to accept a compliment without adding anything negative. 😉 But there are a lot who have the same problem. Just recognized it yesterday again and I just had to talk with her about that topic. 🙂

  8. Ich fand es auch immer schwer mit Komplimenten umzugehen. Aber mittlerweile bedanke ich mich und nehme sie einfach an, wenn ich mal eins bekomme und sage meistens auch, dass es mich freut, dass jmd etwas gefällt. Oft habe ich die Erfahrung gemacht, dann ins Gespräch zu kommen über Sachen, die einen eher weiterbringen und das finde ich dann sinnvoller als darüber zu diskutieren was jetzt blöd an einem ist bzw dass man es nicht so sieht, dass etwas schön ist. Wobei ich dann auch der Meinung bin dass man ruhig sagen kann wenn man sich nicht wohlfühlt. Kommt halt auch immer drauf an wie man etwas sagt und dass man es nicht zum Automatismus werden lässt 😀
    Naja interessantes Thema auf jedenfall 🙂

    Liebste Grüße ❤

  9. Lol @ this post, I simply say Thank you coz i would think its even harder to come up with all those put down expressions. Except in cases where I didn’t really think the object of admiration was really worthy, then I go “Oh really, Thanks. I dint it was cool, I just threw it on but Thank you” with a huge smile too.

  10. I used to brush the compliment off. Say something like: ‘No I’m not, I’m ugly.’ or something like that. It pretty much became an automatic defense mechanism for some odd reason. Then, a friend of mine pushed me on the facts about how annoying it is when someone gives you a compliment and you just brush it off. Ever since I learned to simply say ‘Thank you’ with a smile. Even if I sometimes do not believe it! But I love this post! Makes you think about it 🙂

    1. Exactly – it’s kind of “rude” or “annoying” to avoid any compliment, because most of the time the other one really means it.

      Anyway – I’m glad you like the post and it made you think about compliments. 😉

Leave a Reply

