The Great Gatsby – Movie Review

Hi!

Yesterday I finally watched „The Great Gatsby (3D)” by Baz Luhrmann. I just loved his previous movies like „Romeo & Julia“, „Moulin Rouge“ and „Australia“. So I was pretty excited about the movie. I heard a lot of different opinions about “The Great Gatsby”. 

Start with the cast. I think the cast is amazing. I just loved Leo DiCaprio – he played his role as the Gatsby so amazing. But also Tobey Maguire and Carey Mulligan played their roles very good. So, there is nothing to criticize about the cast. 😉

First thing I have to criticize is, that in the beginning no one knows “The Great Gatsby”. Everyone is at his party, but no ones knows him? But as soon as Nick (Tobey Maguire) appears he just tells him, that he is the Gatsby. And after all everyone gets to know him. First even his staff wasn’t able to tell who the Gatsby is, they haven’t seen him before. Well, I think I would’ve loved it, if the Gatsby would have been a myth for a longer time.

Then let’s go on to the party scene. Here I just can say it was amazing!!! I loved it and if you watch the movie in 3D, you think that you are a part of the whole party. It was really great. I also love the costumes which were sponsored by Prada and Miu Miu. The dresses/costumes were breathtaking. I fall in love with a lot of dresses. 😉

Now I have to mention the soundtrack, which was also a great mix of old songs and new popular songs. Like there was Beyonce – Crazy in Love, but the song was more a Jazz Version. It fits perfect into the movie.

Tough the party scene in 3D was fabulous – the movie wouldn’t have been shot in 3D. Most of the time you don’t recognize the 3D effects. So I don’t get it, why it has been shot in 3D. I think because it’s popular?

So my conclusion – “The Great Gatsby” is a good movie, a little bit too long, but after the whole hype about it, I was definitely expecting more.

Anyone agree’s with my opinion? Or what do you think about the movie?

– Miss Uschi

Hallo!

Gestern war ich im Kino und habe mir endlich “Der große Gatsby” von Baz Luhrmann angesehen. Ich war ein großer Fan von seinen letzten Filme wie “Romeo & Julia”, Moulin Rouge” oder “Australia”. Dadurch war ich auch sehr aufgeregt. Ich habe jedoch auch viele verschiedene Meinung im Vorfeld gehört. Von “Geht gar nicht” bis “Genial” war alles dabei.

Ich fange mal mit dem Cast an. Ich finde alle SchauspielerInnen waren super. Ich fand Leo DiCaprio hat seine Rolle wiedermal grandios gespielt. Tobey Maguire und Carey Mulligan brauchen sich jedoch auf keinen Fall verstecken. Auch die Beiden spielten ihre Parts grandios. Also es gibt hier nichts auszusetzen. 😉

Das Erste was mich gestört hat war folgendes. Und zwar kennt am Anfang niemand den “Gatsby”. Keiner weiß wer er ist, nicht einmal sein Personal. Aber sobald Nick (Tobey Maguire) auf der Party erscheint präsentiert er sich einfach so und bald weiß wirklich jeder wer er ist. Ich finde, dass man hier ruhig länger ein “Mysterium” rund um den Gatsby hätte aufbauen können.

Nun zur Party Szene. Es ist einfach die Szene in dem Film über die ich schon so vieles gehört habe. Und sie war wirklich atemberaubend!!! Ich liebte alles an der Darstellung der Party. Man fühlte sich, als wäre man mittendrin und würde bald selber das Tanzbein schwingen. Auch die Kostüme von Prada und Miu Miu waren traumhaft. Ich habe mich in so einige Kleider verliebt. 😉

Der Soundtrack muss natürlich auch erwähnt werden. Es war ein guter Mix aus alten und modernen Liedern. Als Beispiel: Crazy in Love wurde in eine Jazz Version aufgenommen und der gesamte Soundtrack passte perfekt in den Film.

Obwohl die Party Szene in 3D einfach fabelhaft war – stelle ich mir die Frage, war es wirklich notwendig den Film in 3D zu drehen? Die meiste Zeit merkt man wirklich nichts von 3D Effekten und somit wäre es auch völlig in Ordnung gewesen den Film in normaler HD Qualität zu drehen. Da 3D wohl gerade sehr modern ist, hat man sich wohl dafür entschieden.

Mein Fazit: “Der große Gatsby” ist ein guter Film, aber ein bisschen zu lange. Er hat doch ein paar Längen und nach dem ganzen Hype rund um den Film, habe ich mir einfach mehr erwartet.

Stimmt mir jemand zu, oder was denkt ihr über den Film? Wie hat er euch gefallen?

– Miss Uschi

TRAILER & PICTURES

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rARN6agiW7o

13 thoughts on “The Great Gatsby – Movie Review

  1. It doesn’t make sense for it to have been shot in 3d! It’s a movie about the 20’s!!
    I’m going to see it tomorrow and I’m so excited!!
    xoxo,
    Alysalovely.wordpress.com

  2. have you read the book? i’m sure its way better than the movie but i haven’t seen the movie so i can judge 😡 I really want to see it soon though.

    1. I don’t know what you like. If you are a person who has to see the movie in 3d, than you should do that. There is really just the party scene which is great. Beside this scene I would’ve been glad, if I could have enjoyed the movie without the glasses. 😉 I don’t know the prices where you live, but here in Austria you pay a lot more for 3d movies.

      Anyway – I hope you enjoy the movie and let me know what you think about it! 🙂

  3. I fell in love with the costumes and sound track more than anything. I hadn’t read the book however I’m inclined to do so now purely because I was so damn frustrated with Daisy.

Leave a Reply

